Answered Prayer

Hi all, I hope you are well.  I haven’t blogged in a while.  Might be a bit rusty but here I am.

I have blogged extensively about my son, Gabriel, and his battle with eczema.  Well, things got really (really!!!) bad over the summer.  So bad I was losing hope.  I got to the point where I couldn’t pray anymore.  I got to the point where I was just surviving.  ‘Backsliding’ would be an understatement.

But we’ve made a couple changes and he is doing amazingly well.  His skin is healing.  It’s nothing short of a miracle.  I just stopped using detergent for his clothes.  I just wash them in a simply soap nut detergent.  That has made a world of difference.

I also contacted a minister I knew from way back, who has a gift for healing- begging him to pray for Gabe.  I think that helped turn the tide, as well.  Some people just have a gift for prayer, you know?

In the midst of all this I started a new job.  I work at a Target Starbucks, near home.  Literally across the street.  I really love it but I was having problems with one co-worker in particular.  We’ll call her ‘Annie’.  She had worked there for over two years and had little patience for mistakes I made as a beginner.  She was rude and nasty towards me to the point that I was starting to hate my job.  I prayed… “God, please help this situation.  I pray that you would remove her from here and give her a humbling experience.”

I found out today that she quit.  She got a new job, so she’ll get to experience the anxiety and difficulty being the new girl.  I have no ill-will towards her at all, but was floored that God answered my prayer like that.

I don’t know about you, but when I feel like I’m not as close to God as I should be I just don’t really expect him to answer my prayers.  I am always surprised when he is faithful, even when I am anything but.

I have been getting back into prayer and reading my Bible again.  It is wonderful. Nothing compares to His presence, His peace.

We all go through trials and but up against our own weakness and fallen humanity.  I encourage you to not give up.  God is good.  He does love you.  He cares about all the details of your life.  If you’re going through a hard time, don’t run from him.  Run to him.

 

Leave a Reply

