The Struggle

I went to church on Sunday for the first time in forever (I’ve been working on weekends, don’t judge!) and it was so nice.

Honestly, I have not been doing great spiritually.  It’s been a culmination of things in my life.  Massive disappointment at not seeing my baby boy healed of the eczema that plagues him daily.  My seeming inability to be a ‘good’ Christian.  Feeling like my prayers hit the ceiling and go no further.

I’ve really just been in spiritual limbo.

But on Sunday, sitting in church, God started to stir things in my heart again.  He was calling me back to the struggle.  Jacob_wrestling_new

There are certain aspects of our character or sin nature that die hard.  Things that can be  accomplished only through an intense struggle.

This has been a common theme on my blog because this is where God has me.

There is no way around, no shortcuts.

Matthew 11:12 loosely says, “From the days of John the Baptist until now, the Kingdom of the heavens is taken by violence, and the violent seize it.”

This means to me, a tenaciousness in our faith that sees us through our doubts, disappointments, and failings.

It’s struggling things out when it would be far easier to give up on dreams.  The struggle is real and never more so than in the fight to become all God made us to be and accomplish what he has for us.  The struggle is most intense when we cling to God even when we aren’t seeing answers to prayers or we feel forgotten.

My charge to you (and me) today is to chose to believe that you do have a destiny.  That the intense struggle is preparing you for greater things.  The fight is refining you of those things in your life that you know need to go.  Don’t give up, press in.

 

One thought on “The Struggle

  1. Great post Sierra, the believers life is a struggle because we are fighting against our old nature AND satan. But struggle can be good for us TOO. Keeps us on our toes so to speak. We know we are His because we CARE that we struggle and want to please our Savior.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

