New Years Resolution

Through-out my faith walk, hardships have always propelled me closer to God.  But honestly, this past year, I’ve allowed current trials to come between us.  My super spiritual explanation is that God wants us to follow and trust even when we aren’t getting what we want.  Even if what we want is something noble and right.  I am praying and believing for my son to be healed from his long, tough struggle with eczema.  It hasn’t been just a minor skin irritation- but multiple staph infections, trips to the E.R., sleepless nights, etc.

IMG_4997
My Family

 

He still has eczema and I am still praying.  My stance is that sometimes (often) God walks with you through it.  “Everyone will be salted with fire.” Mark 9:49  Like that old saying, “For those headed to Heaven, Earth is as close as we will get to Hell.  And Earth is as close to Heaven as those headed to Hell will ever get.”  So I’ll let a bit of fire refine and ‘salt’ me now, knowing that there are great things in store.

I know though that I am incredibly, lavishly blessed and loved by God.  Walking through some stuff.  Still a bit of a spiritual hot mess.  But loved dearly as a daughter of the King.

The other morning I got up early to pray and read my bible for the first time in too long.  I felt God’s presence and favor so strong.  It was a fresh reminder that it is a privilege and joy to walk through life with Jesus Christ.  Many people spend their lives in fruitless pursuit of truth.  I know exactly where to find him and He is eager to meet with me.

So this New Year for me brings hopes of getting closer to God.  To chose trust over fear.  To allow God to work in and through me.  To see Him do great things this coming year.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19

One thought on “New Years Resolution

Leave a Reply

