Depression and Anxiety

I’ve read a couple articles in the past couple days that stood out to me.  Sarah Silverman and ‘Lady Gaga’ have both come forward to talk about lifelong struggles with anxiety and depression.

I get it, I do.  Celebrity or not.  I imagine it might be worse for them- to reach the pinnacle of success and to find yourself more lost than ever.

Personally, anxiety and depression almost took my life.  I know there is only one cure to the ache- Jesus.  We are spirits first and foremost and that part of us longs for more.  We sense we were created for more.  We know there has to be more than this.  Without the light of Jesus we are wandering around in the dark.  And how great that darkness is.

“The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of deep darkness a light has dawned.” Isaiah 9:2 rays-of-light-shining-throug-dark-c

It isn’t a mental disorder.  It’s sick soul disorder.

We all carry the original design in our D.N.A.  We were created to live in harmony with God and at peace with each other.  Depression and anxiety is the natural affect of being cut off from that.

I get that some people do well on medication.  I’m not knocking that.  But if you take a pill for an ache in your soul it is like putting a bandaid on a deep, gushing wound.  Not gonna cut it.

Jesus is sufficient.  “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Cor. 12:9

Sarah Silverman described her anxiety as a ‘homesickness’ she felt even when she was home.  I think what she feels is homesickness.  I’m praying for her, and for others like her, that they find that problem is an easy one to solve- the answer is Jesus.

I

One thought on “Depression and Anxiety

  1. Depression and anxiety can be a physical disorder, I know that from personal experience. The brain is as capable of being as sick as the rest of our body. But I do agree that it is sensitive to thoughts and fears and to big changes in our lives. In my experience medication saved my life many years ago. It doesn’t work in every case, but I am so thankful it was available. As in a later writing of yours, it would be wrong to judge why people experience what they do. So much heartache and yes also joy in this life, so thankful for Jesus!! As the disciples said ” who else do we have but YOU Lord?? ” Someday all the tears will be wiped away and all the pain GONE! Even so Come Lord Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

