Coconut Oil

20150604_141134_resized

This was the cup of coconut coffee I just enjoyed.  I got the recipe from http://wellnessmama.com/5673/healthy-coffee/  I used closer to just a tsp. coconut oil and a tsp. organic butter and I added a tiny bit of natural bliss sweet cream creamer.  I believe, like chocolate; coffee needs a teensy bit of sweetness to be truly delicious.  The coffee was really surprisingly delicious, smooth and satisfying.  Great for people who don’t eat breakfast.

There are tons of good resources out there on the benefits of coconut oil.  I’ll just share a bit of my experience with this increasingly popular superfood.

I think I first heard of the health benefits of coconut oil when I was researching to find answers to my digestive problems (that has been a journey in itself!) and I learned that many of us have candida overgrowth.  Candida is the yeast/fungus that causes thrush and yeast infections.  It can also overpopulate the intestines and cause all sorts of problems like sugar and carb cravings, bloating, mood swings, weight gain, etc.  It is exacerbated by the fact that our water is treated with chlorine and our medical system over prescribes anti-biotics; both of which kill off healthy gut bacteria that would keep candida under control.

Coconut is high in lauric and caprylic acid which kills off candida and other yucky junk in our systems that shouldn’t be there, without damaging healthy bacteria.  The effect is so strong that just a spoonful can cause massive die-off symptoms.  My husband tried a spoonful and felt gross for 3 days.  You need to work your way up to feeling the positive benefits.  When you kill off candida you can get flu-like symptoms.  You may do some ‘cleansing’ as your digestive system is freed up to work more effectively.  It doesn’t last forever though and trust that you will feel so much better when you get your gut healthy.

Coconut oil, while technically a fat, actually helps your burn fat.  It is highly thermogenic and your body can easily use it for energy instead of storing it as fat.

Coconut oil is a superfood in that it has a wide range of benefits and contributes to over all health and well-being.

I struggled keeping up my milk supply after my third child.  I made oatmeal cookies with coconut oil and ate them every day.  I was able to breastfeed for the full 18 months that I had planned.  I also saw a great improvement in my baby’s health as I incorporated large amounts of coconut oil into my diet.

Coconut oil also works well used topically on skin and hair.  It is great for treating sunburns (especially with a couple drops of lavender!) and heals skin overnight.  It makes a great hot oil treatment for moisturizing damaged, dry hair as well.

It works as medicine when melted and gently poured into an ear to treat an infection.  It is also a gentle and totally natural cure for yeast infections.  One of my children has cradle cap.  I treat it by massaging coconut oil into his scalp, letting it sit for 20 minutes, and then washing his hair.  His scalp is also 100% smooth afterwards.

I take a spoonful every morning and I do believe it has improved my health.  I use it often as medicine and food.  It works well in baking, and imparts a slight coconut flavor.  For cooking savory dishes (or making popcorn) I use refined coconut oil.  It still has a lot of the benefits but no coconut flavor (and it’s cheaper!).

Have you tried coconut oil?  What great uses have you found for it?

Leave a Reply

