Embracing Now

Confession- I am not *ahem* fashion-forward at all.

I was talking to my b.f.f Crystal about it recently and she affirmed that.  😉  Skinny jeans have been popular for; oh, say 5 years now, and I had yet to buy a single pair.  I said, “I don’t want to be like one of those ladies still rocking 80’s bangs twenty years later.”  She gave me a solemn look.  “I’m taking you shopping.”  20150509_194356_resized

“You don’t have to do every trend but you want to look current, you dress like a teenager from 2002.”  ouch.  It was true.  I had found a style I like (um 10 years ago) and hadn’t really tried anything else.

Sometimes (er, often) we get stuck in various ruts and need a little help getting with the current.

So I found myself at an outlet mall, in a Tommy Hilfiger store (yes they are still around) teasingly holding up a pink mini polo style dress that looked straight out of a Britney Spears video, circa 1999.  “oh baby, baby….”  She rolled her eyes and practically slapped my hand.

Don’t you love best friends?

I did end up buying a pair of skinny jeans.  Yep.  Be proud.  She said I need a maxi-skirt too.  That is next on the list.

20150508_162736_resized_1I think in life our tendency can be to hold too tightly on to the past, or our ideas, previous experiences, belief systems…to the detriment of embracing the day.

Here in Minnesota we are finally getting green.  I took some pictures of the flowering trees.  They are so beautiful but the are only in bloom for a week or two.

” He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.” Ecclesiastes 3:11

Often, to embrace the beauty of today we have to let go of yesterday.  God makes each season of our lives new and different.  We can’t move forward well if we are always looking in the rear-view.  20150506_131911_resized

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?” Isaiah 43:19

I think a big part of worship is looking for the beauty and glory of God; in every day.  Each day is new.  Don’t let boredom set in.  Don’t let yourself stay in a rut.  Try on some skinny jeans.  Stop and smell the flowers.  Worship God by enjoying the beauty of each day, each season.

God is the God of today.  He has something fresh and new for us today.  

“God again set a certain day, calling it “Today.” This he did when a long time later he spoke through David, as in the passage already quoted: “Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts.”” Hebrews 4:7

Leave a Reply

