Buzzkill

20150424_102558

I saw this at my local Starbucks.  Who wants to know that 3-4 bites of a decadent brownie has nearly 400 calories?  I was shocked because it wasn’t very big either.  Back in the day I would have happily eaten this, along with a mocha, and called it ‘lunch’.  I can’t eat stuff like this anymore unless I want to feel awful for the rest of the day.

It got me thinking though of how we all have our little vices and temptations.  Brownies, overspending, t.v., whatever.  It is simply human nature to want to indulge without carefully considering the cost.

I’ve had so many people say to me, “You’re skinny now but just wait till you hit age (insert random age here) you’ll instantly gain (insert weight gain here).  I used to be thin too and then I hit that magic age and this weight suddenly appeared.”  Followed with a knowing nod.  What?  I totally agree staying fit and at your ‘fighting’ weight gets harder with age.  I’ve especially noticed after my 3rd child my body wanted to stay 10 pounds heavier than it used to be.  But you can stay fit and healthy, regardless of age, with a little work… if you are willing.

I’m not going to just throw in the towel and settle down with chips and ice cream though.  Well, ok I have been lately.  You know how it goes- a treat turns into a daily thing.  Before you know it you have replaced hard-won healthy habits with not so healthy habits.

I don’t personally struggle with motivation to work out.  I love working out, I really do.  But I also love Mexican food.  And chocolate ice cream.  And popcorn…you get the drift.  😉  And I realize I’m at an age where I can’t eat that stuff all the time without gaining weight and feeling awful.  Buzzkill.

I had made a lot of progress and gotten to my goal size.  Then I slowly (ahem quickly) stopped logging my calories with fitness pal and lost my progress I had made.  I had been avoiding the scale and in a bit of denial.

A couple days ago I forced myself onto it and yep, I had regained the weight.  It was actually a bit freeing to just face it.  I am back to tracking my carbs and calories and armed with motivation, I know I will succeed.

I think it is human nature to over-indulge and then actively stay in denial.  Huge debt usually doesn’t just ‘happen to you’.  Failed marriages don’t just happen.  Ruined reputations usually don’t just happen.  Granted, there are exceptions.  But usually we ruin our own lives and sabotage our own goals with a lack of self-control and the elaborate self-deception that keeps us heading the wrong direction and head simultaneously in the sand.

“Like a city whose walls are broken through is a person who lacks self-control.” Proverbs 25:28

Living a life of balance and exercising self-control (the only fruit of the spirit involving ‘self’) can protect us from so much unnecessary heartbreak and so many problems.

Our flesh balks at discipline.  Every day I face the internal struggle of ‘I want chips or sweets or whatever food I shouldn’t be eating’ usually paired with ‘I deserve it because of this or that’…but then I remember I am going to have to enter that into my food diary.  Buzzkill.  I previously solved that problem by eating said food and then just not entering it in!  And before I knew it my jeans were suddenly shrinking again.

I realize my food intake and weight aren’t super-important in the long run.  But you know we lose or win the war in the daily little battles.  I want to live a life guarded against the destructive schemes of the enemy by daily practicing the discipline of self-control.

Paul said, “Everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things. They then do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air; but I discipline my body and make it my slave, so that, after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified.” 1 Cor. 9:25-27

Self-control is difficult in the short run, true- but it yields such incredible rewards.  Let’s embrace it’s daily discipline today and enjoy its fruits tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

