The Dance and the Dream

“You deserted the Rock, who fathered you; you forgot the God who gave you birth.” Deuteronomy 32:18

The Hebrew word here for ‘gave you birth’ is חוּל– chuwl meaning whirl, dance, or writhe.  It is associated with childbirth and anxious longing.  I really love the intimacy of it.  God is laboring in a sense, over each of us.  He is dancing with us.

I understand as a parent that the labor process doesn’t end when the child comes into the world!  It is really just beginning.  You tenderly care for them, love them, nurture them, you are there for them through the good and the bad, watch with great joy as they develop… you have hope and dreams for their life.

This verse shows that God very much feels the same about us, his children.  He carefully formed us and chose the exact time in human history we would be born.  He gave us our characteristics, personality, giftings, and room for flaws as well 😉  He has hope and dreams for each one of us.  He longs that we would go through life ever mindful of our Father-creator.  That we would engage him in the dance of life.

There is a song by Casting Crowns called ‘Let me Dream for You’.  Some of the lyrics are-

So come on, let Me dream, let Me dream for you
I am strong when youre weak and I’ll carry you
So let go of your plan, be caught by My hand
I’ll show you what I can do
When I dream for you
I have a dream for you

I’m stronger than you think I am
I’ll take you farther than you think you can
You sing and call me Great I Am
So take your stand
My child, if you only knew
All the plans that I have for you
Just trust me, I will follow through
You can follow Me

It speaks to the deepest parts of our heart.  We all long to know that we are loved, that our lives matter, that there is a reason for our existence.  There is.  God is bigger, better, and kinder than we know.  He wants to dream for you today.

Leave a Reply

