Healthy Chocolate

eca86b86ec7c168835d01cI haven’t been blogging much lately.  I’ve been pretty busy with life and my laptop charger went kaput.  I tried blogging from a tablet (completed most of a blog and then somehow lost it! arg!) but I now have a new charger and lease on writing. 😉

Me and chocolate go way back.  I don’t remember the first time I had it, but of this I am sure- it was love at first bite.  It’s been a lifelong love affair to put it mildly.

But now that I am more health conscious I need a healthy way to enjoy my favorite treat (er food, keep it real).  Virtually all chocolate you can buy has icky junk added like barley malt powder (I am gluten sensitive, buh-buy lindt chocolate) and/or soy lecithin (a by-product of soy processing, almost always GMO).  Often in addition to hydrogenated oils (ew), HFCS (who needs that junk?), preservatives, and excessive amounts of sugar (learn to love dark chocolate!).

We know chocolate is very healthy in it’s pure form.  http://longevity.about.com/od/lifelongnutrition/p/chocolate.htm

But buying quality dark chocolate is pretty expensive.  One large-ish bar will run you 3-4 dollars.

So I decided I am just going to have to make my own!  This is my base recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Homemade-Melt-In-Your-Mouth-Dark-Chocolate-Paleo/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=paleo%20chocolate&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page&soid=sr_results_p1i4

I modify it by using organic sugar instead of honey (it hardens up better).  I also add a dash of sea salt.  I double the recipe and add 1/2 cup peanut butter.  This is super yummy.  Even my toddler loves it.  You can make it as sweet or dark as you like.  Just don’t eat it all in one sitting!!  Enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Healthy Chocolate

  1. LOVING this idea!! We have babies with soy/dairy/egg sensitivities and I nurse them so no yummy chocolate for mama unless I make it myself. I will definitely try this and report back. Have you heard of chocolate covered katie? She only does dessert recipes and they’re all vegan, lots of them are gluten-free or can be adapted to be. SHE”S MY BEST FRIEND. I mean, she doesn’t know it, but she is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

