Fighting Discouragement

As the title implies I feel like I have been sifting through quicksand-esque muckiness of discouragement.  I haven’t been spending as much time as usual with God (prayer, the Word, worship) and man is it showing.  I finally connected the dots.  If I start slacking on my quiet time it does not take long before this ship is sinking fast.  S.O.S.!

We all have our ‘stuff’ we deal with.  Sometimes life just gets to us.  We all have our own battles and struggles.  We need to be constantly renewed in the Word and in the presence of God or we will be ‘sinking ships’.

Like David, who faced struggles and giants (literally!); when we get discouraged and distressed we need to find strength in the Lord our God. 1 Samuel 30:6

“Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, myeagle-2 Savior and my God.” Psalm 43:5

“Though youths grow weary and tired, And vigorous young men stumble badly, Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.” Isaiah 40:31

We get discouraged when we take our eyes off the Savior.  We need to keep fixing our eyes on him.  He is our life-giving water.  He is our everything…and we are everything to him.

2 thoughts on “Fighting Discouragement

  1. I am someone that needs a fresh fill of God on a daily basis. I am a weak person naturally speaking. I used to envy women that seemed to have an easy time holding it all together. I can fall apart easy and quick without the power of God holding me together.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Emily- me too! I am so weak. I think it can be a blessing though if it leads us to that daily deeper walk with God. My own weakness and need has been the driving force in my spiritual growth. Here is to taking our neediness to Him and finding him to be more than enough and so much more!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

