DIY Dry Shampoo

20150309_083103

I am pretty busy, with my three kiddos.  I also bleach my hair.  So I like to stretch the days between shampooing.  The natural oils are great for your hair, which is especially important if you dye and style it.  But no one wants greasy looking, musty-smelling hair, right?  😉  Here is a quick DIY recipe for a dry shampoo.  This will soak up oil and make your hair look fresh and smell amazing in 2 minutes.  I sprinkle it on a soft bristle brush and run It through my hair, focusing on my roots.  It also has a thickening affect!

You can experiment with the ratios and essential oils (use what smells good to you!  But avoid citrus sun-sensitizing oils).

Dry Shampoo-

  • 3 heaping tbs. non-GMO cornstarch (I found mine at Target)
  • 1 tbs. baking soda
  • 3 drops lavender oil
  • 1 drop peppermint (peppermint is very strong)

Add the ingredients to a small container (I used 1/2 cup gladware container) and shake it up.  Boom.  Done.  Oh and you can also add a tsp. of cocoa powder for brown hair and/or cinnamon for red hair.

One thought on “DIY Dry Shampoo

Leave a Reply

