No Peeking!

images…or why I don’t look at my ‘stats’ anymore.

I thought the stats page was pretty cool at first.  You can see how many people read your blog, cool!  Or, not so much.  I quickly found that peeking at the stats was dictating how I felt about my blog.  If only three people read it- it was crap.  I would feel very discouraged.  If many people read it I would feel elated.  I realized neither is very healthy.

When you are serving God you have to do your very best and then set it at the altar.  I prayerfully blog and ask that God would use it to bless, encourage, and mostly glorify himself.  Then I refuse to peek at the stats.  I’ve decided that if I pour my heart into a blog and it only blesses one person (or even just me!) that is enough.

The temptation is to make it about us.  The temptation is to worship the work of our hands. Isaiah 2:8  Or at least it is for me.  I am a bit of an approval-addict you see.  Anyone relate?  We come to a fork in the road where we can seek approval from people or from God.  We can’t faithfully seek both.

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10

God may ask us to speak the truth (in love) to a World that is growing increasingly hostile to the truth.  To a world that believes that you can make your own truth and form God in your own image.  The unshakable truth of God will prevail, but siding with God in this culture isn’t always going to win you many fans.

Do not despise the day of small beginnings…  God alone promotes and opens doors. Psalm 75:6

“The paparazzi flashes, and that they think that it’s you,
But they don’t know that who you are is not what you do,
True, we get it twisted when we peak at the charts,
Yo before we part from the start,
Where’s your heart?”

haha not scripture-

“Lose My Soul” TobyMac

I am going to be faithful where I’m at.  My hope and dream is that someday I will travel all over; speaking the Word with my Minnesota accent. 😉  In the meantime though I will be content.

4 thoughts on “No Peeking!

  1. You are making a difference and I can relate to looking at the stats! Keep moving in the direction of your God given dreams to share God’s love with the world! I’m so glad to see God’s aspirations and inspiration working in you and say hi to Tim!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

