Women I Admire

imagesUNAENEMVThis blog post is very close to my heart.  Here is a list of women (some fictional) that have inspired, challenged, and motivated me into becoming the woman I am (and am still becoming!).  I just love women that are strong, fiery, passionate, fierce, but also kind, gentle, and loving.  Here is my tribute to women who inspire me, starting with a couple movie characters (indulge me a little!)-

Sarah Connor from the Terminator 2 movie.  At the time I saw this I was about 13 and flirting with an eating disorder.  I firmly thought being as skinny as possible was the way to go.  Then I saw this movie and it blew me away.  Sarah was doing chin-ups, rocking serious ‘guns’, and kicking butt.  It redefined my idea of female beauty.  Skinny is for pre-pubescent boys.  I think women should be strong.  Women should be able to carry their own groceries or defend themselves, should the need arise.  I also love that Sarah was motivated by her fierce love for her child.  She was a woman on a mission and nothing was going to stop her.

Another favorite of mine is Éowyn from the Lord of the Rings trilogy.   She is the daughter of Kings and looks lovely in her royal dresses.  But her heart beats for honor, freedom, and valor.  When her eowynbluebrown3

world is threatened she puts on her armor and rides to war.  She gets between her injured Uncle, King Théoden and the Witch King of Angmar.  When most would fall back or faint with fear; she charges in.  “No man can kill me!”  She throws off her helmet, “I am no man!” and sends that beast into the afterlife.

Éowyn is courageous, strong, and selfless in defending her loved ones.  In the movies we also see her being compassionate and caring.

Did you know that in Proverbs 31 the word used to describe the woman of virtuous or noble character is ḥa·yil.  This Hebrew word can also be translated as strength, capability, nobility, powerful, and valiant.  http://biblehub.com/hebrew/2428.htm

So the verse could accrurately be translated as ‘woman of valor’.  I love that so much.  I feel that Christian culture can send conflicting messages to women.  I once heard a certain pastor on t.v. ‘jokingly’ putting women down.  I was so disgusted.  I think God is too.  God loves women.  Women represent half of Gods heart.  Women have the unique ability to bring forth life.  Our hearts are wired to be tender towards the needs of those under our care but fierce towards any who would harm them.  Any other ‘mama bears’ out there?

Satan hates all mankind but especially women.  “And I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will crush your head, and you will strike his heel.” Genesis 3:15

I’ll leave the fainting and cattiness to characters created by men.  I want to be a mighty woman of Valor.  I want to crush the head of the serpent under my heel.  I want to raise my children to be mighty arrows aimed at the heart of darkness.  Women- lets rise up and become all we are meant to be.

Like Jael- when the enemy dares come into our homes lets deliver a quick death-blow.

Like Deborah- let’s not be afraid to step into Gods calling on our lives and go to war with the enemy.

Like Mary Magdalene- let’s leave our pasts behind us and pour out all our love and adoration on the Savior.

Like my modern Heroes of the Faith- Beth Moore, Susie Larson, Joyce Meyer, Lisa Bevere, Kay Arthur, Sheila Walsh, and many others- lets be mighty, courageous, valiant women of the Faith.  Let’s wield our swords of the Spirit well and beat back the hordes of hell.  We aren’t men, no.  We are women.  Uniquely equipped, anointed, and called.  Nurturers, life-givers, healers, protectors, encouragers, and godly.  Let’s be His women.  Let’s completely reject the demeaning stereotypes the world tries to put on us.  We are so much more.

images

God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day. Psalm 46:5

One thought on “Women I Admire

Leave a Reply

