God’s Message for You

So, I was buzzing around full of the Holy Spirit and (way too much) French press coffee and contemplating my next blog post.  I had a couple ideas I was pretty excited about but I felt like God was speaking to me about a special message He wants me to share.  A message for the hurting prodigal son or daughter.

I’ll be completely honest, I have spent way too much time rebelling and running…circling around in the wilderness of disobedience.  I still sometimes find myself wandering there.

untitled

There is something in us that longs to throw off constraint and throw ourselves into a prodigal downward spiral.  We believe that the ways of God are restrictive.  That he is holding out on us.  We don’t trust.  The enemy/tempter lures us away with promises of excitement, fulfillment, fun, whatever.  We spend our energy chasing that worldly promise on the horizon and in the process plunge headfirst into a pit.  Then we get to the bottom and ‘come to ourselves’.  We can’t bring ourselves to look up, to cry out for help.  We realize that we have been chasing a mirage and have walked away from the truth, possibly doing much damage in the process.  Surely we have run too far and sinned too much.  God must have handed us over to the enemy and washed his hands of us by now…

Jesus told a parable about a particularly bad prodigal.  He had demanded his inheritance from his Father, run off to the Vegas of his day, and wasted it all on parties and hookers.  Eventually the money was gone and he found himself hungry, desperate, and working in a pig pen.  Even the pigs were eating better than he was.  He followed the path of rebellion all the way to the bottom of the pit…when he ‘came to himself’.  He would go home.  He was no longer worthy to be a son, but he could work as a servant.  So he started back home…

“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.” Luke 15:20

He said, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’

The Father wouldn’t hear any of it.  ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet.  Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate.  For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.

This is God the Father’s heart towards you.  Don’t run from him, run to him.  He is waiting for you.  He wants to hold you close and wipe away the tears.  You can always go home.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.” Jeremiah 31:3

He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
    out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
    and gave me a firm place to stand.
 He put a new song in my mouth,
    a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear the Lord
    and put their trust in him. Psalm 40:2-3

God will forgive any sin.  He will heal all the hurt.  He loves you.  He stand at the door of your heart and knocks.  Will you let him in?

2 thoughts on “God’s Message for You

Leave a Reply

