Heeding the Call

FastingAt church yesterday we had an amazing guest speaker, Kari Bitz.  We all sat quietly with Holy Spirit goosebumps as she preached on the importance of fasting.  Long story short- fasting for the win.  If you are in desperate need of a breakthrough (for yourself or a loved one), have a desperate need, or most importantly- want to draw closer to God; the answer is fasting.  If prayer is a fuse and the Word of God a pile of dynamite; fasting takes it up to a nuclear bomb.

My spirit said, “YES!”.  I’m not exactly sure how I’m going to incorporate fasting just yet.  I think I am going to start with a three day Facebook fast.  I love Facebook.  A little too much.  It can get very addicting for me.  It can be a powerful force for good- a way to reach out and pray for people who are struggling (and I do) but it can also become a powerful distraction.  In a quiet moment I could spend with God I feel tugged away to go check my phone.  I don’t want anything competing against my relationship with God and winning.

I also think I will fast chocolate.  Go ahead and laugh.  The funny meme about chocolate being cheaper than therapy is so true!  I am a little too in love with my dark chocolate, it’s true.

The purpose of fasting is to reduce the power that our fleshly appetites hold over us.  Fasting denies our strongest impulses so we can get better in touch with our spiritual needs.  Many report hearing much more clearly from God when they are willing to deny themselves.  Fasting also brings seemingly impossible breakthroughs.  When we humble ourselves with fasting God moves Heaven and Earth and fights our battles for us.  Fasting is the key to turning the tide.  Fasting is the key to breaking spiritual strongholds.  Fasting is the key to experiencing physical healing.  Fasting is the key to getting emotional, soul-deep healing.

I personally want to walk in as much of the power of God as I can.  I want my life to matter.  I want to experience total freedom in following Christ.  Honestly, there are areas I do desperately need healing in my body and soul.  I will also be fasting for salvation for V.I.P.s in my life.

But most of all I will be fasting to become closer to my God.  Because He is so worth it.  He is so much better than any earthly pleasure or distraction.

“O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you.
My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you
in this parched and weary land where there is no water.
I have seen you in your sanctuary and gazed upon your power and glory.
Your unfailing love is better than life itself; how I praise you!
 I will praise you as long as I live, lifting up my hands to you in prayer.
You satisfy me more than the richest feast. I will praise you with songs of joy.” Psalm 63:1-5 pic

Leave a Reply

