Diet Update

A bit over a week ago I saw a very unflattering picture and decided to tackle those last five pounds head-on.  They weren’t going away on their own!  In my early 20’s I could be lax in my diet as long as I worked out and be very thin.  Now, not so much.  I know I am also very prone to insulin resistance (baby diabetes).  My blood sugars were super high in my pregnancies.  Eating sugar or refined carbs really negatively affects my mood and energy levels.  I am also type ‘O’ blood which does well with a diet of mostly meat and veggies.  I’ve seen from experience that I feel best when that is the bulk of my diet.

So, I’ve been tracking calories and carbs with the fitness pal app on my phone.  It isn’t nearly as much of a pain in the butt as I thought it would be.  It has brought much needed structure to my eating and it takes out the guesswork.  No more mindless munching on my ‘healthy’ chips or acting like my kid’s leftover eater-upper.  😉  I take a deep breath and assure myself it is ok to throw away their last few bites of food.  The world won’t stop spinning.

So, I am down 1 1/2 pounds.  Jeans are a bit looser.  Most importantly, I am feeling much better.  I am so much calmer.  I haven’t been yelling like a psycho at my kids for acting like, well kids!  I haven’t even been craving the junk.  It really dawned on me yesterday cause I did over-indulge in sugar.  I felt like I had taken a hit of crack and craved more sugar for hours.

I am keeping calories around 1,500 and carbs under 100 for days when I don’t work out.  When I do I eat about 1,900 calories and like 120 grams of carbs.  Nothing too crazy or extreme.  I’ve been eating lots of high quality protein (about 100 grams a day) and usually up to 90 grams of fat.  Also, lots of low carb veggies like broccoli, spinach, and cauliflower.  I’ve noticed as my eating habits are changing it is positively affecting my family as well.  We are all eating more veggies and less junk.  🙂

Much love, Sierra

Leave a Reply

