Childlike

“He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them.  And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change andhug become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.  Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me.”  Matthew 18:2-5

I haven’t gone to college.  I do not have a degree in theology.  But I have spent all. my. adult. life. taking care of my young kids.  I KNOW childish.  I deal with it everyday.  In my kids and sometimes in myself, ha.

So, obviously, Jesus didn’t mean we should drink chocolate milk from sippy cups and scream when we don’t get our way.  So what did he mean?  Here are some things that I have learned from my children.

-Openness to life.  Everyone is a potential friend.  They don’t expect failure.  Every new experience is an adventure.  Each day is full of possibilities.  They stop to ‘smell the flowers’ (especially when you’re in a hurry!).

-Humility.  I giggle when I remember both of my boys, at different points; after being asked, “You’re not scared, are you?” “NO!  I AM SCARED!”  It was cute and funny because they were not shy about what they were feeling.

I remember, as a young mom being touched by the way Michael responded to discipline.  After a spanking he would tearfully run right into my arms.  The lack of ego or grudge-holding is a beautiful attribute of the very young.

-Dependence.  The feeling of a warm little hand in mine.  The trust.  When they run to me to kiss their ‘boo-boos’.  When they look to me to right the wrongs.  The moment when they start hugging you back or saying “I love you” and you realize how much they depend on you, how it makes your heart swell with tender love.

I think these are some of the ways we should relate to our Father God.  We need to be open towards Him, humble and honest with Him about our needs and fears, and trust Him to care for us.  For those of us blessed to be parents, imagine God loving you the way you love your child (times a million!).  He said, “If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!”  He loves us like a perfect Daddy and has promised to never leave or forsake us.

Leave a Reply

