Brokenness is His Tool

As experienced by so many, I had a ‘mountain top’ experience with God followed by an extended time in the ‘wilderness’.  I’ll try to summarize as much as possible.  My teen years were really rough.  I was very depressed and dealing with all sorts of problems.  My parents divorced.  I had an eating disorder.  I was sneaking alcohol and living off of diet coke.  I dropped out of high school.  Well, you get the picture.  I was a mess and things got more complicated when I became pregnant at 17.  I never even entertained the thought of an abortion.  Which, looking back, was God’s protection over me as far away from Him as I was.  It was tough though.  I felt very much alone.  And then God stepped in.  He was always there.  I was just living so far in enemy territory I couldn’t hear his voice calling me home.  But suffice to say, his arm is not too short to save.  Even those at the bottom of the pit.  I was saved and born again and on an extreme Holy Spirit high.  The depression was gone and I met and married my wonderful husband in a whirlwind (2 months!) courtship.  Everything was looking up and life was great.

…. but then I slowly started to realize that all my ‘issues’ weren’t gone.  That healing is a long journey not always rendered in one altar call.  In 2008 my husband and I became pregnant (ok I was pregnant, he helped that happen!).  We were overjoyed.  But the pregnancy seemed to trigger some genetic health problems.  Debilitating digestive problems (which I later realized was caused by a gluten intolerance) insomnia and crushing exhaustion.  Then the father of my first child took us to court to try to gain custody of my son.  There were painful and untrue things said about me.  I was consumed with anxiety and fear.  I couldn’t sleep at night.  The depression was back.  That was the start of my journey into the wilderness.

What do I mean by the wilderness?  Well, there is a biblical precedence of God using tough times and trials to do a deep work in his people.  Joseph got his call but spent years as a slave and then was wrongfully imprisoned before he was elevated to save many lives through a 7 year famine.  Moses spent 40 years as a nobody shepherd before God used him to mightily deliver his people from slavery…who then spent 40 years wandering in the desert.  “Remember how the LORD your God led you all the way in the wilderness these forty years, to humble and test you in order to know what was in your heart, whether or not you would keep his commands.”  Deuteronomy 8:2  The Bible is full of the stories of ordinary people who overcame extraordinary obstacles with a faithful God.  Thousands of years later we still have the same stubborn human nature and God still uses this tough process of refinement and testing to prepare us for His call on our life. 

I know what it’s like to have trouble getting out of bed.  To wonder how you are going to get through the day.  To be painfully rejected by a friend.  To feel angry with God.  To feel abandoned.  To feel like your problems are swallowing you alive.  Why does God allow his children to suffer?  I feel there is a dual part answer.  Firstly, after the fall of mankind every single part of creation was subjected to the curse.  Life is hard.  Things go wrong.  Murphy’s law, right?  Bad things happen to good people.  But… somehow in the midst of the resulting chaos God is working.  Firstly, he sent his Son Jesus Christ into our broken world.  “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are–yet he did not sin.” Hebrews 4:15  Jesus was our ‘Man of Sorrows’ who felt the full crushing weight of all this brokenness and conquered it.  He is coming back, (the original sequel!) to finish the job.  He is going to take time to personally wipe away our tears before he puts everything back to how it should be.  That day is going to be indescribably, epic-ly awesome and I can’t wait…but in the mean time….

God has a plan.  He knew you before you were born. (Jeremiah 1:5)  The presence of pain and obstacles is not the absence of God’s love and favor.  “This third I will put into the fire; I will refine them like silver and test them like gold. They will call on my name and I will answer them; I will say, ‘They are my people,’ and they will say, ‘The LORD is our God.'” Zechariah 13:9  When we feel most forgotten God is busy at work.  Allow me to fire off some ‘cat poster’-esque but true sayings- You don’t get the rainbow without the storm.  You don’t get the testimony without the test.  The most brilliant and joyful dawn follows the darkest and longest night.

We are all apart of human history…His-story that is being written with our lives in response to our Savior.  Your life matters.  “for God’s gifts and his call are irrevocable.”  Romans 11:29  “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  Romans 8:28  Your story, your struggle is so much bigger than your own life.  God is molding your life, like an expert potter, to prepare you for mighty works.  (Jeremiah 18:6)  potter

So my charge (to myself and all who want to be faithful and see God be glorified) is don’t give up.  Sometimes we are just called to stand.  “Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.” Ephesians 6:13  The day of evil is here.  The Devil is angry cause he knows his time is short.  God is equipping and preparing his Saints for the coming showdown between good and evil.  Stay faithful.  Don’t give up.  We know how the story ends.

2 thoughts on “Brokenness is His Tool

Leave a Reply

